‹  Home |  Music |  All Music
  • All music

Hank Mobley Sextet 

Hank Mobley Sextet ‎– Hank Mobley With Donald Byrd And Lee Morgan

129 LEI

In stock | Incl. VAT

LP | NEW  | 2017


Jazz Hard Bop

Hank Mobley with Donald Byrd and Lee Morgan (also known as Hank Mobley Sextet) is an album by jazz saxophonist Hank Mobley released on the Blue Note label in 1957 as BLP 1540. It was recorded on November 25, 1956 and features Mobley, Donald Byrd, Lee Morgan, Horace Silver, Paul Chambers and Charlie Persip.

Go to item

Hank Mobley Sextet 

Soul Station (Reissue)

125 LEI

Out of stock | Incl. VAT

LP | NEW  | 2014


Jazz Soul Hard Bop

In 1960, when Hank Mobley laid down his classic album Soul Station, the tenor saxophone was the sovereign instrument on the jazz bandstand, rivaled only by the trumpet. What Mobley brought to the tenor saxophone was his deep-bodied, melodic soul. On Soul Station, Mobley enlisted an all-star rhythm section comprised of Blakey as well as bassist Paul Chambers and pianist Wynton Kelly, both in Miles Davis’s classic ‘50s band. They supply the swing and groove to the six tunes on the album—two standards that open and close the collection with four lyrical Mobley originals in the middle—while the tenor saxophonist flows and glows effortlessly through the lyricism that embodies all the music here.

Go to item